Part 1 – the Rear Rack

Ladies love their purses – well, I certainly do. And while riding bikes might have limited your style statement in the past, those times are long gone. Join me on a journey of fabulous options that will turn your commute to work, your coffee ride, or your touring in an adventure where form meets function!

Part one of this series on all things transportation is rear rack options.

Business Casual: PoCampo Uptown Trunk Bag

Uptown Trunk Bag
PoCampo
is probably one of my favorite brands when it comes to bike accessorizing. Woman-owned, I feel the brand truly understands what is important for women riding bikes, especially in an urban commuter environment. So while I own a lot of wonderfully functional gear, a bag that fits my bike and my office is a little harder to find. Enter Po Campo’s Uptown Trunk Bag. The bag comes in several designs, but I am just in love with the classy black look that can be turned from rack bag to purse in no time. It is attached to the bike rack with four clasps and sits tight on the rack. It comes with lots of pockets and compartments, including a padded iPad pocket. Net pouches with simple reflective elements on the front and bag make it a perfect bag for commuting early or late in the day. The adjustable shoulder strap can easily be clipped on once you get off the bike et voila – here’s your business friendly purse! On top of this, the Uptown is made with vegan, weatherproof fabrics to keep everything dry in the rain and a portion of its sales goes to delivering bicycles to schoolgirls in rural Africa through our partnership with World Bicycle Relief. There is truly nothing not to love about this bag!

Urban Style: Bent Basket

BENT BASKETBent Basket hails from Brooklyn, NYC, and is operated by designers & entrepreneurs Faris Elmasu and David Haddad. As per Bent Basket’s website, “bicycles are more than just a mode of transportation. They’re an expression of our personality and freedom. We want the world to have a bike basket to match.” And they truly achieved that by designing the most unique bike basket I have ever laid eyes on. With its wooden base and bright red nylon straps that securely lock whatever you’re carrying into plaec, the basket does not only look rad, it lends itself to transporting bigger items like books or yoga class accessories. I loved riding it from the library to a coffee shop to do some research. The basket is super easy to install, with four bolts that attach it securely to the bike rack. I was looking for a feature to make my urban commuter fit my style in the best way possible, and the Bent Basket was the perfect choice to express my affinity to form and function.

Carry On: Detours Interlaken Pannier Set

Detours Interlaken Pannier SetHave you ever tried transporting a wetsuit, a towel and swim accessories in a convenient way on the bike? The Interlaken Panniers make my little triathlete heart jump, because the interior is really built to maximize volume. The panniers expand vertically by 3 inches to accommodate bulky items, and I can’t tell you enough how practical this is (also for groceries and bike touring, of course!). The panniers also have little compartments and pockets on the outside for easy organization of smaller items. My favorite feature is that they have an integrated rain covers and small reflective, so you are prepared for all weather on your bike adventures. The Seattle-based company combines elements of simplicity and functionality with style and fashion – just like Moxie Cycling and just how I like it.

PrintJasmin is a Moxie Cycling Ambassador and blog contributor. Check out her bio here!

About jasminwelter

Up to a random day in January 2014, I couldn't have cared less about bicycles. After having been talked into trying the sport, I developed a strong passion for riding - and swimming and running. I had a lot of fun in the sport and was honored to compete in my national colors at the 2015 ITU AG World Championship. While I consider myself a triathlete first and foremost, I also love gravel and CX racing, mountain biking and the occasional trip to the velodrome - especially with the amazingly fierce, supportive and overall rad women of my team, BFF Bike Racing. Follow me @princess_layup!

Leave A Comment

