Planning For Success With A Hectic Schedule

As we have always been told, “failing to plan is planning to fail.”  I believe that there is a lot of truth in that quote.  Planning ahead is such an important part of success with a hectic schedule.

I am training for Cornbelt 24 Hour Run, Mankato Marathon, and several other running races and triathlons for this season.  My husband is training for Ironman Kentucky.  We both work full time, and both have a 30+ minute commute into work.  Planning ahead is important to be able to fit everything in without feeling completely stressed out.

There are so many things to think about when planning.  We spend a lot of time on Sunday afternoons getting ourselves all set for the next week.  It’s not always fun spending the time on Sunday doing that, but it sets us up for a successful week.

1. What races am I going to do this year?

It helps to start putting the races on the schedule well in advanced.  If I have a race on my calendar, and I have paid for it, I am a lot more likely to make the time to fit the workouts in when things get super busy.

2. What are my workouts for the upcoming week?

I try to have my workouts set up on Training Peaks several weeks out.   It is nice to have an idea of what I am doing going into the week.  My hubby and I try to match up our schedules the best we can, so we can do at least some of our training together.   We try to plan our longer training days on the same day, so we can spend more time together on the other days.  My hubby is super understanding of my busy training schedule, since his is as well.  Not a lot of husbands would be super understanding that I have back to back long run days this week, that might take up about 8 hours total.

3. What are we going to eat?

I usually make one bigger trip to the grocery store each week, and then several smaller trips for produce.  We usually plan out what we are going to have about a week in advanced.  We have 3 crock pots that we put to use several times a week.  On weekends where we have a bit more time, I spend a lot of time cooking.  We often cook meals ahead and freeze them, so it is super simple to eat healthy when we are busy.

4. What are we going to wear?

Thankfully, neither of us has to dress up for work.  With both of us having two a day workouts more often than not, that makes a lot of laundry!

5. What do I need to get organized for tomorrow?

Since I generally leave my house between 4:30 and 5:30 in the morning to get to work, I try to set everything out the night before.  What am I going to wear?  What am I bringing for lunch?  It makes it way less stressful the next morning.

I encourage you to set aside at least one hour of planning each week in preparation for the next week.  You will find that the time spent will be well worth it!

PrintHeather is a Moxie Cycling Ambassador and blog contributor. Get out her bio here!

About Heather Kick-Abrahamson

I am a Personal Trainer, Endurance Coach, and Metabolic Technician at Life Time Fitness in Chanhassen, MN. I have completed 29 marathons, 29 ultramarathons, 20+ triathlons, including Ironman Chattanooga 2015. I am currently training for Cornbelt 24 Hour Run.

One comment

Leave A Comment

