Morgan: My bike story?

My bike story? It’s really a love story. First for a man. Then for a machine. And now for myself.
In the beginning, I was a born-and-bred runner. I found the garish colors, spandex “diapers” and alien helmets of cyclists unflattering. Who needed a  bike when you had legs to propel you? Man up and run, I thought.
 
But all those years of running and miles of pounding were taking a toll on my joints: An aching knee, a nagging pain in my hip, a body too thin. I was on a path to destruction and I’ve little doubt that my pride and fierce determination would have pushed me to the breaking point had it not been for the cyclist who pedaled into my life.
 
I lived on the 3rd floor. He on the 1st floor. He was alright, I guess. Cute. Not a serial killer, far as I could tell by his gentle eyes. He wasn’t a runner but he was fit from all that bike riding. Nice legs (even if they were hairless). When he asked me on a ride, I accepted, with reservation. I didn’t know it then but that ride would change my life for ever and for better.
 
Fifteen years, six bikes and tens of thousands of miles later, cycling has become a central part of my life, business and identity. At its surface, the bike is a great path to fitness, but I’ve learned to pay attention to cycling as metaphor for so many of life’s challenges and victories.  My bike, She is my teacher. My on-the-bike lessons have made me a more worthy, compassionate, wise and honest off-the-bike human being.
 
With that in mind, Moxie riders, thanks for allowing me to crash your party.

Now, let’s learn a thing or two about cycling. Stuff a female cyclist ought to know: How to be a better rider, how stuff works, tips for looking pro and not feeling like an a-hole at the bike shop… Equally as important, let’s learn how to pay attention to our bike story… How our love for that triangle piece of steel, aluminum or carbon with two wheels and some pedals can literally empower us to love… a person, the planet… even ourselves.- Morgan

Have a topic you’d like to read about from Morgan’s perspective? Leave a comment below or ping us on Facebook/Twitter/Instagram with #MoxieMorgan

Leave A Comment

