Marla’s Story

October is finally here – and it’s breast cancer awareness month.  Moxie Cycling is proud to do our small part in seeking a cure and this week, we released a limited-edition mini collection where $5 of every unit sold will be donated to Huntsman Cancer Foundation for women’s cancer research.

We followed up with Marla, who is a cancer survivor.  We hope to share her story and bring greater awareness of the effects of cancer and the unbelievable strength of the human spirit.

This is Marla’s story…

My name is Marla. I am 53 and a human resources professional working at Utah State University. I am the oldest of 11 children. I have been married to my best friend for 23 years. We have a 9 year old coon hound mix, rescue from the human society, named Eddy and 3 cats named Jake, Elwood and Jewels. We live in northern Utah and enjoy music, bicycling, riding with and participating in the Christian Motorcyclists Association (CMA), kayaking, really anything outdoors, we love.

In Feb. 2007 I had developed a cough that wasn’t getting better even after taking prescription cough medicine. I went to the instacare on March 1 after having a difficult time breathing while attempting a morning workout. The doctor took a chest x-ray and said he wanted me to go to the hospital for a CT scan because he thought he was seeing cancer. I was diagnosed with Primary Mediastinal Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma, Non-Hodgkins.

Can you describe your journey with cancer?

My cancer journey was scary and at the same time, it caused me to put things in my life into perspective. I began to focus more on the really important things and less on things that really don’t matter. I kept a journal and documented much of the journey.

Has your battle with cancer changed your perspective on life in any way?

Yes, I don’t know if anyone can go through a life threatening illness or injury and not come out changed on the other side. My husband and I do much more for others now including mission outreach not just in foreign countries but also in our own back yard. We try to pay things forward as much as possible and give back some of that which we have been so richly blessed.

Do you have any advice for other women currently battling cancer?

Be strong in your faith, love others, have courage, smile even when you may not feel like it. The attitude you have going into this battle makes all the difference. Do your best to stay positive and believe that God still performs miracles today. One of my quotes while on this journey was derived from the Lord of the Rings in which Frodo says to Gandalf, “I wish this ring had never come to me, I wish this had never happened.” I replaced the word “ring” with “cancer”. Gandalf replies to Frodo “so do all who live to see such times. But this is not for us to decide, all we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.”

Learn more about Moxie’s collaboration with Huntsman Cancer Foundation here.

Leave A Comment

